**Title:** Dynamically Resilient Steel-Concrete Composite Super-Structure for Rapid Transportation (Dyna-Com)

Duration: April 2024 to March 2026

### **Objectives:**

- Development of novel high performance concrete (nHPC) for rapid transportation
- Numerical simulations of steel-concrete composite bridges for rapid transportation
- Experimental investigations for evaluating the dynamic and fatigue performance of the developed steel-concrete composite structural systems

#### **Progress Highlights:**

- Investigations on the tensile performance of strain hardened cementitious composites using specially designed and in-house fabricated test set-up
- Analyzing the post-peak behavior of the developed composite and correlating it with their strain/crack characteristics using image based correlation technique
- Design of steel-concrete composite girders for rapid transportation using high speed train models adhering to relevant codal provisions
- Optimization of composite girders using evolutionary algorithms for twin I-girder and trapezoidal box girder configurations and analysis of their Pareto fronts
- State-of-the-art review on wheel-rail interaction elements for carrying out vehicle bridge interaction studies



Pareto front of the twin i-girder bridge

Pareto front of the trapezoidal box girder bridge



a) Horizontal strain contours at different load levels



b) Left crack c) Right crack Phenomenon of crack branching of strain hardened cementitious composite, a) Horizontal strain profile (in micro-strain), Crack boundaries of b) Left crack and c) Right crack at different load levels

# **Future Programme:**

- Investigations towards development of high-strength, strain-hardened cementitious composites
- Dynamic similitude analysis of steel-concrete composite girder towards laboratory investigations
- Evaluation of response of steel-concrete composite girder with wheel-rail interactions using different non-iterative numerical simulations

## PI and Co-PI

Dr. B.S. Sindu (PI) Mr. M. Kannusamy (Co-PI)

## Team:

Dr. Ing. Saptarshi Sasmal Mr. K. Saravana Kumar Dr. A. Thirumalaiselvi Mr. A.M. Sarath

Date: December 2024