Dr. K. Ramanjaneyulu,PhD

Dr. K. Ramanjaneyulu PhD

Academic Background

  • Ph. D. (Structural Engineering), 1992, Indian Institute of Technology Madras
  • M.E. (Structural Engineering), 1985, Indian Institute of Science Bangalore
  • B.Tech. (Civil Engineering), 1983, NIT Warangal (Formerly, REC Warangal)
acadamic icon

Professional Background

  • Chief Scientist - , CSIR-Structural Engineering Research Centre, Chennai, since 01-01-2011
  • Professor - Academy of Scientific and Innovative Research (AcSIR), Chennai, since 27-02-2014
  • In-charge - Software building, CSIR-SERC, from 1-4-2009 to 7th October 2010
  • Head - Structural Testing Laboratory, CSIR-SERC, from 08-10-2010 to 10-7-2011
  • Head - Advanced Concrete Testing and Evaluation Laboratory (ACTEL), CSIR-SERC, from 11-7-2011 to 1-9-2020
pro icon
Areas icon

Areas of Scientific Interest

  • Reinforced and Prestressed Concrete
  • Seismic upgradation and retrofitting of deficient and distressed beam-column sub-assemblages
  • Fatigue of concrete structures
  • Composite bridge girders with corrugated steel webs
  • Performance evaluation and structural health assessment of bridges
  • Power plant structures such as cooling towers and Chimneys
  • Shell structures
  • Numerical modelling and analysis of structures
  • Structural repair/restoration
  • Blast resistant design of structures
awars icon

Professional Recognition /Awards

  • Awarded DAAD (German Academic Exchange Service) Fellowship, 1992 – 93 to carry out research at Ruhr University, Bochum, Germany
  • Awarded Raman Research Fellowship, 2006-07 to carry out research at ILEK, University of Stuttgart, Germany
  • Awarded Certificate of appreciation by the Director, SERC, Madras, on 29-8-2000 - for the significant scientific contribution towards SERC winning 1999 CSIR Technology Prize for Engineering Technology in the area of Computer-aided Analysis and Design of Structures and Software Development
  • Awarded prizes by the Institution of Engineers ( Four times)

• The George Oomen Memorial prize in the year 2006
• The Sir Arthur Cotton Memorial prize in the year 2007
• The Suchit Kumar Ghosh Memorial Prize in the year 2009
• Dr. Jai Krishna Prize in the year 2013

  • Awarded The Indian National Group of the International Association for Bridge and Structural Engineering Medal (twice)

• The ING-IABSE Medal for the year 2005
• The ING-IABSE Medal for the year 2006 Awarded Dr. M. Ramaiah prize for the best technical paper (Four times)

  • Awarded Dr. M. Ramaiah prize for the best technical paper (Four times)